11/14/2005

Obligatory Boston Entry!

That's right! Yesterday was Boston trip #3 and as usual, it was an adventure, haha.

I won't do a disgustingly detailed recap, but here are the major events:

-We (Travis and I) were not swarmed by birds while eating our food outside this time! We sat on the steps of the Boston Public Library since we were waiting for it to open, so maybe that made a difference.

-Once inside the library, I had no idea where the hell anything was because they've totally changed around the inside since the time I had to do research there. We sat outside in the courtyard for awhile and some girl was all dolled up in a red prom dress, etc. posing next to the columns and stuff while her friend took pictures of her. We had no idea what was up with that, haha.

-All I'll say is, if the scary punk chick was so worried about being walked in on, she should have LOCKED THE FREAKING BATHROOM DOOR! hahaha

-I'm an official red-card carrying member of the IWW now. Yay! See, the unfortunate thing is that these once-a-month meetings that we go to are the "business" meetings, so they're interesting, but to a point. :p But because Travis and I live so far away, we aren't able to get to Boston for their weekly "social" meetings or the other various events that they attend. I think eventually our best option would be becoming delegates and maybe even starting a branch here in RI. If not that much, we could definitely form education/literature/etc. committees in our state, but at this point we're both too new and lacking the time to get anything started. It would also be awesome to start a radical bookstore/space here in RI since the only one that used to exist up in Providence has been shut down for awhile. And let's face it, Providence isn't a very convenient location anyway. I started looking into the whole process of getting a place, reading other bookstores' websites to see how *they* began, but again, there's just not enough time to seriously devote to it. I'm hoping that once I graduate, this will change. And of course this is all assuming that I'll be staying around for awhile. Bah.

-We still didn't have time to go take a new picture of that statue. >_< I think next month, we should just go there as soon as we get something to eat from Starbucks. We can eat and walk at the same time, haha.

-the train ride back to S. Attleboro. . .the darkness! Augh! I hope *something* comes out in the pictures that I took! ;)

-We ended up having dinner at 7 Moons because I accidentally missed the exit to get to Warwick. Darn! So yeah, we were both VERY disappointed with *that* turn of events!

-Came back to the apartment and watched the Assassination of Richard Nixon because everyone SHOULD see this movie. I can't help getting into it and I just always feel so bad for Byck by the end.

Travis left soon after that, but Rich and I stayed up for awhile more. Again, that's the wicked abbreviated version of EVERYTHING but remember what the first Boston trip entry was like? Yeah, I don't think any of you want a repeat performance, haha.

Today has been much less interesting. I brought my car in for its oil change and inspection at 8am (which is late for me!). Everything was okay, although the guy said my tires and breaks will probably need to be replaced soon. Yeah, I coulda told them that as soon as I drove in. I didn't ask them to patch the tire, just because my family usually bring our cars to a different place to get our tire work done, so that's something I should do next weekend, maybe next Saturday morning.

Other than that, I just have class today, but that's not until 5. I will probably go to campus early to work on my TOP SECRET PROJECT (although I guess it's not a secret to everyone now v_V hehe) and afterwards I have philosophy reading that I *could* do, but it's nothing major.

So that's about it. It's past my lunchtime, so I have to go take care of that. :p

2 Comments:

Blogger Blacksheep said...

I can't believe that lady freaked out so much about the bathroom! It was like a 10 minute tirade for a mistake, and she didn't lock the door, how would you know? lol.

And we'll get that statue some other time, I just didn't want us to get stuck in Boston till 7!

Oh, and I finally got the IWW newspaper in the mail today! It must take them a while to process new members, so I'm glad I didn't buy a copy yesterday.

Fun trip, and I like your title over in ICA, that was exactly what yesterday was! haha.

6:58 PM  
Blogger Erica said...

I have nothing more to say about that lady, haha.

I had been wondering if you had received the newspaper in the mail since you didn't buy one the other day-- weird. It's only been a month since you joined though, so that's not too bad of a wait. Speaking of, I read some of it yesterday. . .

Stomach vs. heart, ninja vs. Walmart. . .it's all about the confrontations, hehe.

10:13 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home