8/31/2005

The Next Step

I have a lot to say about the horse situation (and also to reply to Pax's comments) but I will get into it tonight.

For now. . .

You know that I am moving into Rich's apartment and will actually be *living* there as of next Monday. This is all well and good, but. . .will it get weird?

We are still together as of right now, but what happens when we aren't? What happens if we start seeing other people while we're still living together?

It's hard to answer thse questions now. Barring the "other people" part, Rich and I don't think it will be weird to live together even if *we're* not together. We'll still be friends and there's no reason why that should change. And we've never been the type to stifle each other from doing our own activities, spending time with our own friends, etc. so we're used to spending time apart. I guess we'd have to stop going out to dinner every week, unless Rich wants to keep paying for my meals, haha. Otherwise, I don't have the extra income to throw around like that too often, so that's something *I* will have to get used to. :p

The only other possibly weird thing we could foresee is that we'll still be sleeping in the same bed. There was a fleeting thought of getting an extra cot, but I don't see the need. It's very possible to be sleeping together but not actually doing anything physical, you know? So I don't see the problem, but again, there's the whole "what if another person comes along" thing.

We were talking about all of this last night; this and the directly related topic: when? We've brought this up several times, but neither of us has come up with an answer yet. It's tough and it's not fun to think about. I spent so much time grieving during that one week awhile ago that maybe the idea doesn't worry me *so* much, but the finality of actually breaking up still scares me. There's no going back. :/ But is it wrong for us to keep prolonging the inevitable? I have to admit that sometimes I think that cuz I'm going back to school, maybe I should be available during this last semester, see what happens.

I just don't know. No matter what happens, I'm just gonna keep going about my days. If Rich and I stay together awhile longer, good; if we break up, someone will fall into place eventually, or maybe I'm just meant to be single for awhile. Not going to stress over this. Will not.

2 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

it sounds like this guy rich isn't doing it for ya. ur moving in with him but ur thinking about being available at school? it sounds like maybe ur just with him now becuz ur afraid to be alone, not because u want him? i think moving in together will make or break the relationship. if it doesn't work out, i would find a place of my own, but that's my opinion.
(uomsg?)

8:50 PM  
Blogger Erica said...

Dear anonymous commenter (though I'm guessing it's doubtful you'll be back):

I appreciate the note, but you'd have to go back and read about the entire situation to understand what's going on. Rich and I have a very good relationship and have for almost 3 years. Our breaking up is inevitable because, simply, our relationship can't go anywhere. Getting married wouldn't work out because he wants kids and I 100% do not. If it weren't for that matter, we'd be staying together. And I will be getting a place of my own, after I gradute in December. Right now, it's not even close to being an option.

PS-- "ur" is so not a word.

9:42 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home