6/20/2005

Legend in Six Languages!

I lied. This entry probably won't be that long, so don't be scared.

Friday and Sunday I worked, so it was only Saturday that I spent tons of time loafing around, writing. I don't like being secretive, but in this case, it's better that way. All I'll say is: I should have expected it (instead of getting my hopes up) and I just have to learn to deal. If your name is Rich, you'll get the whole story. Otherwise, sorry.

Something kinda funny happened when I was in Starbucks Saturday night. When I got there, the place was mostly empty so I parked myself in one of the comfortable chairs by the front windows. Since it *was* Saturday night though, the place started to fill up rapidly soon afterwards and naturally, the comfortable chairs were the first to go. 2 of the other sets were taken by actual groups of people, so all their chairs were in use, but I had an empty chair and the guy in the corner behind me also had an empty chair. He definitely came alone and was busily working on *something.* I dunno, but he had a briefcase and all this stuff on the table before him and generally looked like me back when I was working on my thesis, hehe.

Anyway, after a small rush of customers, most of the people took their drinks and left the store, but there was one guy. . . he only had a drink, but appeared intent on sitting down. Now mind you, almost all of the regular tables were free, but this dude didn't seem to notice. I had been watching the customers for a bit cuz I had run out of stuff to write, and was alarmed when random middle-aged man started walking in my direction! Or, should I say, in the direction of the comfortable chair right near mine. O_o
Well, I guess the Death Stare I gave him changed his mind, so what did he do next? That's right, without even asking, he set himself down in the empty comfy chair next to the guy doing work! I guess he didn't mind, cuz he kept on doing his stuff, and the middle aged guy just sat there and had his drink. So then I wrote about that, haha.
It would have been one thing if he SAID something like "Is anyone sitting here?" or at least gave some kind of nod, but nope. Heh, I found this quite funny at the time, but maybe you had to be there to appreciate it. :P

I used to actually get *upset* if random people came too close. Like this one time, when I first started going to URI, I was sitting on one of the couches on the 3rd floor (of the library), just reading between classes. All of the couches filled up pretty fast, but nevertheless, I was surprised when a random girl sat herself down at the opposite end of the couch *I* was on.

And for some reason, this totally offended me. Like, I could not concentrate on what I was reading anymore. So I got up in a complete huff and left. Went to sit at one of the decidedly uncomfortable desks cuz HOW DARE THAT GIRL for coming too close.

._.

I haven't done anything like that since and certainly I've HAD situations like that arise and it didn't bother me. But actually, this is hedging into territory I didn't want to discuss, so I'm gonna have to end this subject here.

I guess this stomach bug has been going around Brooks and I actually caught it for once. Yeah, like the past several days I would just feel nauseous off and on and it was really vexing. I went into work yesterday lamenting the situation and this girl Nicole was like "Oh, you too! Good!" so naturally I was like "Good?" Apparently she was scared that she was pregnant, cuz she had been waking up nauseous for a few days, haha. And someone else had a stomach bug last week (and is a guy) so it's probably just that. Anyway, it got awful enough that I chugged some Emetrol (like half the bottle-- I didn't have a spoon to measure with! :x) and that helped a lot. And cuz Chris and I were making fun of the awful Brooks radio commercials on Friday, he and Nicole decided I should do an equally awful one for Emetrol to the tune of that even MORE awful "Milkshake" song that was popular awhile back, haha. Trust me, it wouldn't be worse than some of the things they play. (Like a Jessica Simpson song EVERY HOUR. Why? Cuz we sell her "Dessert Treats" products-- really overpriced body lotion, powder, lipgloss, etc. and no one buys it. Ever. So Brooks probably just feels bad, either that or they're hoping if customers hear her caterwauling, they'll magically want her products. Or maybe they just like torturing their employees. So many possibilities!)

Did I say this wasn't going to be long? ^___^

AK Press is hiring, apparently. They're a collective dealing with radical lit and products, so obviously a requirement for working there is sharing their anarchist (or otherwise very radical) views. Don't worry, I'm not applying, but it would be interesting. Besides, what are my qualifications? "Hi, I'm not actually involved in the movement, but I wrote a paper on it!" Yeah, just slap a gun in my hand and call me Leon, heheh.

I think I've changed my mind-- if reincarnation happens, I guess I wasn't Mozart afterall and I'd have to go with Czologsz instead. Or maybe I was both. ;) Genius composer to assassin? Awesome.
I don't actually believe in reincarnation much at all, but since doing my paper, I could point out a LOT of ways in which LC and I are similar. It's actually a little scary. O_o Maybe another time. . .

The only other thing I"m willing to discuss today is this: should I attempt getting back into ballet instead of riding? Ballet would be a LOT cheaper. On one hand. I have some old leotards and tights, but I would need new soft shoes and a new skirt. That would probably be less than $100. I'm not sure how much it would cost to take one class, but you only pay twice a year and I'm guessing it wouldn't be TOO much. Certainly not like taking a $45+ riding lesson every week.

There are several cons, however. Getting there would be a big one. The only school that I'd even consider taking lessons at is Festival. Unfortunately, in the years since I've left, they moved to their old, more convenient location to a new place on Hope Street in Providence. I guess only going there once a week wouldn't be too bad, though. Then there's the worry about me not being half as good as I used to be. ._. When I started taking dance classes again at UT, it was obvious even then that some of my skills had deteriorated. I used to do really well at big jumps and pirouettes (back in h.s.) but now it's hard to even do one very correctly. I'm more flexible than I used to be, but can only extend my leg to about 90 degrees, which isn't very high at all and nowhere near what I used to be capable of. I improved quite a bit during that year at UT, enough that both my ballet and jazz instructors encouraged me to keep dancing and even to try taking classes in NYC, but I *was* dancing just about every day. Improvement was guaranteed. If I can only take one class now, it wouldn't be enough to improve at all and I find *that* discouraging, too.

Well, I have to go, but I have more to say on this subject later.

And if you all stop leaving me comments for good, I just may go back into hiding! Yeah, I'm sure that would be tragic, hehe. ;)

3 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

(Matt here...) I'm still leaving you comments!

I will tell you why I've been busy lately, but that will go in my own diary. Maybe today?

By the way... I have an interview on Tuesday up here in New Hampshire, so I will be back in RI Tuesday evening. I am still interested in going to WaterFire... so let me know what's going on. I can get myself to Rich's apartment with directions, too.

3:19 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

AK Press is hiring radical authors? Fantastic news where do I sign, any openings in the American Socialist department? haha.

Man, I've typed out so many socialist things online, taken out so many socialist books from the library and requested inter loan articles etc. that the FBI probably has a file on me now marked "Security C" which was their old code for Communist agigtator haha.

5:16 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Oh and that was Me (Travis) above if you couldn't guess already ;)

5:17 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home